2017 Winners 2018 Nominations Melanie Hetrick, Tillamook County

2017 Winners 2018 Nominations Melanie Hetrick, Tillamook County

2017 Winners 2018 Nominations Melanie Hetrick, Tillamook County Library Kiva Liljequist, Metropolitan Learning Center (Portland) MacKenzie Ross, Beaverton City Library What is ORCA? Founded in 2010 Fun and exciting way for Oregon youth in grades 312 to become enthusiastic and discriminating readers Students choose their favorite book in a real-life democratic process

How are the books chosen? Oregon students, teachers, and librarians may nominate titles Copyright date must be two years prior to when the list is announced Nominations are reviewed by a committee of Oregon librarians, educators, and booksellers Committee creates the final list! Committee Members Chair: Kiva Liljequist (Metropolitan Learning Center, Portland) Jen Blair (Beaverton School District) Billie Bloebaum (Third Street Books, McMinnville)

Anna Bruce (Happy Valley Library) Grace Butler (Whitman Elementary School, Portland) Melanie Hetrick (Tillamook County Library) Elizabeth Johnson (Corvallis-Benton County Public Library) Beth LaForce (George Fox University, Newberg) Jessica Marie (Salem Public Library) Laurie Nordahl (North Bend High School) MacKenzie Ross (Beaverton City Library) Karren Timmermans (Pacific University, Eugene) Rebekah Westmark (Coos Bay Public Library) Source: GIPHY, https://tinyurl.com/laxhrjh

And the 2017 winners are... Source: GIPHY, https://tinyurl.com/kclw8jv 2017 ORCA Upper Elementary Winner El Deafo Cece Bell Will Eisner Award for Best Publication for Kids Kirkus Prize Nominee for Young Readers Literature Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Middle Grade and Childrens

Read-alikes: Wonder (Palacio), Roller Girl (Jamieson), Smile (Telgemeier) Authors website: https://cecebell.wordpress.com/ 2017 ORCA Middle School Winner The Crossover Kwame Alexander Newbery Medal Coretta Scott King Award for Author Honor Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Middle Grade and Childrens

2016-2017 Oregon Battle of the Books Read-alikes: Brown Girl Dreaming (Woodson), Serafinas Promise (Burg), Full Cicada Moon (Hilton) Authors website: http://kwamealexander.com/ 2017 ORCA High School Winner Ill Give You the Sun Jandy Nelson Printz Award Stonewall Honor Book for Young Adult Literature Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Young Adult Fiction

2016-2017 Oregon Battle of the Books Read-alikes: Fangirl (Rowell), Two Boys Kissing (Levithan), More Happy Than Not (Silvera) Authors website: http://jandynelson.com/ 2018 ORCA Upper Elementary Nominees The Terrible Two Mac Barnett E.B. White Read Aloud Award Honor Great Stone Face Book Award Nominee Author website: https://www.macbarnett.com/

Sequel: The Terrible Two Get Worse Read-alikes: Diary of a Wimpy Kid series (Kinney), The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher (Levy), PIckle: The (Formerly) Anonymous Prank Club of Fountain Point Middle School (Baker), Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer (Jones) 2018 ORCA Upper Elementary Nominees Circus Mirandus Cassie Beasley Author website: http://cassiebeasley.com/ Read-alikes: Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer

(Jones), Gabriel Finley and the Ravens Riddle (Hagen), Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy (Foxlee), Nightingales Nest (Loftin) Educators guide: http://www.penguin.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/CircusMirand us_EducatorsGuide_16_4p_FORWEB.pdf Next book: Tumble & Blue (August 2017) 2018 ORCA Upper Elementary Nominees My Near-Death Adventures (99% True!)

Alison DeCamp Author website: http://www.alisondecamp.com/ Sequel: My Near-Death Adventures: I Almost Died. Again. Read-alikes: Fake Mustache (Angleberger), The Willoughbys (Lowry), The Mysterious Howling (Wood) Discussion guide: https://www.randomhouse.com/teachers/wp-content/uploads/2016/0 5/MNDA_TeachersGuide.pdf 2018 ORCA Upper Elementary Nominees Stella by Starlight

Sharon M. Draper Charlotte Huck Award Winner for Outstanding Fiction for Children Parents Choice Awards Silver Medal Winner Author website: http://sharondraper.com/ Read-alikes: Sugar (Rhodes), The Madman of Piney Woods (Curtis), Gone Crazy in Alabama (Williams-Garcia), Full Cicada Moon (Hilton) Study guide: http://sharondraper.com/guides.asp?id=74 2018 ORCA Upper Elementary Nominees George Alex Gino

Stonewall Book Award for Childrens Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Middle Grade and Childrens Charlotte Huck Award for Outstanding Fiction for Children Author website: http://www.alexgino.com/ Read-alikes: Gracefully Grayson (Polonsky), Better Nate Than Ever (Federle) Human Rights Campaign: Transgender Children and Youth: http://www.hrc.org/explore/topic/transgender-children-youth 2018 ORCA Upper Elementary Nominees Fish in a Tree

Lynda Mullaly Hunt Schneider Family Book Award for Middle School Author website: http://www.lyndamullalyhunt.com/ Read-alikes: Absolutely Almost (Graff), Stella By Starlight (Draper), A Handful of Stars (Lord) Educators guide: http://www.penguin.com/static/images/yr/pdf/FishInATree_lessonplan s_Final_LR.pdf Next book: Out of Order (2018) 2018 ORCA Upper Elementary Nominees

Roller Girl Victoria Jamieson Newbery Honor Oregon Spirit Book Award for Graphic Novel Author website: http://www.victoriajamieson.com/ Read-alikes: Sunny Side Up (Holm), El Deafo (Bell), Smile and Sisters (Telgemeier) Next book: Alls Faire in Middle School (September 2017) Fun fact: Local author who lives in Portland! 2018 ORCA Upper Elementary Nominees

Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer Kelly Jones Dorothy Canfield Fisher Book Award Nominee Georgia Childrens Book Award Finalist Author website: http://curiosityjones.net/ Read-alikes: Everything on a Waffle (Horvath), Fantastic Mr. Fox and Matilda (Dahl), The Star of Kazan (Ibbotson) 2018 ORCA Middle School Nominees The War That Saved My Life

Kimberly Brubaker Bradley Newbery Medal Honor E.B. White Read Aloud Award Honor 2017-2018 Oregon Battle of the Books Author website: http://www.kimberlybrubakerbradley.com/ Read-alikes: Number the Stars (Lowry), Wolf Hollow (Wolk), Chasing Secrets (Choldenko) Rumored sequel: The War I Finally Won Educators guide: http://www.penguin.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/WarThatSave dMyLife_Guide_15_4p_LR.pdf 2018 ORCA Middle School Nominees

Lost in the Sun Lisa Graff Dorothy Canfield Fisher Childrens Book Award Nominee Texas Lone Star Reading List 2017-2018 Oregon Battle of the Books Author website: http://www.lisagraff.com/ Read-alikes: The Thing About Georgie (Graff), Wonder (Palacio) Educators guide: http://www.lisagraff.com/LisaGraff_StudyGuide_FNL-revise-lo.pdf Next book: The Great Treehouse War (May 2017) 2018 ORCA Middle School Nominees

Full Cicada Moon Marilyn Hilton Jane Addams Childrens Book Award Nominee for Older Children Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature for Children Cybils Finalist for Poetry Author website: http://www.marilynhilton.com/ Read-alikes: Listen, Slowly (Lai), Countdown (Wiles), Brown Girl Dreaming (Woodson) Book group guide: http://www.marilynhilton.com/cmsdocuments/Full_Cicada_Moon_Bo ok_Group_Guide.pdf

2018 ORCA Middle School Nominees The Boys Who Challenged Hitler Phillip M. Hoose Boston Globe-Horn Book Award Honor Sibert Informational Book Award Honor YALSA Award Nominee for Excellence in Nonfiction Author website: http://www.philliphoose.com/ Read-alikes: Courage & Defiance (Hopkinson), Beyond Courage (Rappaport) Teachers guide: http://www.philliphoose.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/The-BoysWho-Challenged-Hitler-FINAL.pdf

2018 ORCA Middle School Nominees Listen, Slowly Thanhha Lai Cybils Finalist for Middle Grade Fiction Author website: https://www.thanhhalai.com/ Read-alikes: Full Cicada Moon (Hilton), Inside Out & Back Again (Lai), One Crazy Summer (Williams-Garcia) NPR interview with Lai: http://www.npr.org/2015/02/12/385793936/listen-slowly-about-conn ecting-to-a-heritage-you-dont-know Fun fact: Lai started a non-profit (Viet Kids, Inc.) to buy bicycles for

poor students in Vietnam. 2018 ORCA Middle School Nominees The Nest Kenneth Oppel Dorothy Canfield Fisher Childrens Book Award Nominee Author website: http://www.kennethoppel.ca/ Read-alikes: The Night Gardener (Auxier), Circus Mirandus (Beasley), A Path Begins [Thickety] (White) Reading group guide: http://www.simonandschuster.com/books/The-Nest/Kenneth-Oppel/9 781481432337/reading_group_guide

Next book: Inkling (2018) 2018 ORCA Middle School Nominees Orbiting Jupiter Gary Schmidt ALA Notable Book for Children, Older Readers YALSA 2017 Best Fiction for Young Adults VOYAs Perfect Tens; 2015 Author website: http://www.hmhbooks.com/schmidt/ Read-alike: The Crossover (Alexander), House Arrest (Holt), The Seventh Most Important Thing (Pearsall)

BookPage interview: https://bookpage.com/interviews/18869-gary-d-schmidt#.WPkvjLi1uU k 2018 ORCA Middle School Nominees Lumberjanes, Vol. 1: Beware the Kitten Holy Noelle Stevenson Will Eisner Comic Industry Award for Best New Series Author website: http://www.gingerhaze.com/ Read-alikes: Ms. Marvel (Wilson), The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (North) Sequels: Vol. 2: Friendship to the Max, Vol. 3: A Terrible Plan, Vol. 4: Out

of Time, Vol. 5: Band Together, Vol. 6: Sink or Swim Mini Wonder Woman comic: http://www.dccomics.com/blog/2015/02/11/exclusive-preview-sensati on-comics-featuring-wonder-woman-chap-24 2018 ORCA High School Nominees The Wrath and the Dawn Rene Ahdieh Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Young Adult Fantasy and Science Fiction 2017-2018 Oregon Battle of the Books Author website: http://www.reneeahdieh.com/

Sequel: The Rose and the Dagger Read-alikes: Red Queen (Aveyard), An Ember in the Ashes (Tahir), Illuminae (Kaufman), The Scorpion Rules (Bow), A Thousand Nights (Johnston), The Arabian Nights Next book: Flame in the Mist (May 2017) 2018 ORCA High School Nominees The Game of Love and Death Martha Brockenbrough Kirkus Prize Nominee for Young Readers Literature Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association Award Winner YALSA Teens Top Ten

Author website: http://martha-brockenbrough.squarespace.com/ Read-alikes: Walk on Earth a Stranger (Carson), The Book Thief (Zusak), Symphony for the City of the Dead (Anderson) Next book: Alexander Hamilton, Revolutionary (September 2017) Fun fact: Local-ish author who lives in Seattle! 2018 ORCA High School Nominees The Weight of Feathers Anna-Marie McLemore Morris Award Nominee Author website: http://author.annamariemclemore.com/ Read-alikes: Bone Gap (Ruby), The Accident Season (Fowley-Doyle), The

Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender (Walton) Discussion guide: http://images.macmillan.com/folio-assets/discusion-guides/97812500 58652DG.pdf Next book: Wild Beauty (October 2017) 2018 ORCA High School Nominees Dumplin Julie Murphy Amelia Bloomer Project Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Young Adult Fiction Author website: http://juliemurphywrites.com/

Read-alikes: Gabi, a Girl in Pieces (Quintero), Not Otherwise Specified (Moskowitz), I Was Here (Forman), The Boy in the Black Suit (Reynolds) Next book: Ramona Blue (May 2017) Fun fact: Wrote her first novel during NaNoWriMo while working as a librarian! 2018 ORCA High School Nominees All American Boys Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely Coretta Scott King Honor Author website: http://www.jasonwritesbooks.com/ Read-alikes: How It Went Down (Magoon), X (Shabazz), This Side of

Home (Watson), Between the World and Me (Coates) Reading group guide: http://www.simonandschuster.com/books/All-American-Boys/Jason-Re ynolds/9781481463331/reading_group_guide Keynote address at ABC Childrens Institute: http://www.shelf-awareness.com/issue.html?issue=2976#m36112 2018 ORCA High School Nominees More Happy Than Not Adam Silvera Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Young Adult Fiction Author website: http://www.adamsilvera.com/

Read-alikes: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda (Albertalli), The Rest of Us Just Live Here (Ness), None of the Above (Gregorio), Honor Girl (Thrash), We Are the Ants (Hutchinson) Next book: They Both Die at the End (September 2017) Fun fact: Silvera published this book (his first) before turning 25, which was a goal of his! Fun fact #2: Interviewed Ahdieh! https://youtu.be/BLiW6M044n0 2018 ORCA High School Nominees Nimona Noelle Stevenson National Book Award Finalist

Will Eisner Comic Award for Best Graphic Album Reprint Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Graphic Novels and Comics Author website: http://www.gingerhaze.com/ Read-alikes: Carry On (Rowell), Uprooted (Novik), The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Vol. 1 (North), Six of Crows (Bardugo) Fun fact: Stevenson used the webcomic as her senior thesis at the Maryland Institute College of Art 2018 ORCA High School Nominees Everything, Everything Nicola Yoon Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Debut Author

Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Young Adult Fiction Author website: http://www.nicolayoon.com/ Read-alikes: The Fault in Our Stars (Green), Highly Illogical Behavior (Whaley), One (Crossan), All the Bright Places (Niven) Discussion guide: http://www.randomhouse.com/teachers/resource/everything-everythi ng-discussion-guide/ Movie trailer: https://youtu.be/42KNwQ6u42U For ORCA Resources, Visit the Blog... https://oregonreaderschoiceaward.wordpress.com/ If you are interested in being involved with the ORCA Committee,

contact the Chair (Kiva) at [email protected] Thank you!

Recently Viewed Presentations

  • Motivation and Emotion - Northern Highlands

    Motivation and Emotion - Northern Highlands

    Where do "motives" come from? Drives. A state of tension or arousal caused by bodily needs. Drive Reduction Theory. states that motivated behavior is an attempt to reduce a drive and return the body to
  • Us History

    Us History

    TLINGIT, HAIDA, & CHINOOK. Found in Alaska, Canada, Washington, & Oregon. Used forest & sea for resources. NEZ PERCE & YAKIMA. Found in eastern WA & ID. Lived in earthen homes ... Pounded acorns into flour for food. UTE &...
  • Year 8 Design and Technology - Llantwit Major School

    Year 8 Design and Technology - Llantwit Major School

    Situation and Design Brief. Situation. A new surf shop is opening in a local seaside town and would like to add a selection of imaginative T-Shirts designs to its range of summer clothing
  • Continents and Oceans Passport to Geography Physical Geography

    Continents and Oceans Passport to Geography Physical Geography

    Physical Geography. Physical maps show height. On this map, green is lower land and orange/brown is higher land. In the UK, the upland areas are found in the north and west. For example, many part of Scotland. The lowland areas...
  • Animal Based Metaphors about Growing Old by Alleen

    Animal Based Metaphors about Growing Old by Alleen

    She struts like a peacock. * Animal Names as Value Metaphors Some animal allusions are based on simple comparisons to shape or appearance, but others allude to behaviors and reveal speakers' attitudes towards males and females.
  • Chapter Three - My Illinois State

    Chapter Three - My Illinois State

    The Demise of Positivism. Logical positivism largely rejected by the 1960s: Why? Verifiability principle came under serious question. Observation seen as theory-laden rather than value-free
  • Perrine's Sound and Sense - Weebly

    Perrine's Sound and Sense - Weebly

    "The Eagle" by Alfred, Lord Tennyson. Eagle. Respect. Standing, diving, static, dynamic. See, picture, imagine, hear. Eagle- crooked hand, wrinkled sea crawls
  • PowerPoint-Präsentation

    PowerPoint-Präsentation

    * Hier sehen Sie die neuen Fächer und Sie bemerken sofort, dass sich bei uns im Kanton Bern praktisch nichts ändert: Bei den 6 Fachbereichen gibt es einzig beim bisherigen NMM eine kleine Änderung. Neu heisst es NMG, aus der...