JM 7737 Conceptual Design Review

JM 7737 Conceptual Design Review

Ryan Olin, Austin Granger, R.J. Kakach, Seth Frick, Joey Senkyr AEM 1905 11/24/09

Objectives Launch and recover payload Use weather station to track temperature, pressure and relative humidity in near space Track location, altitude and trajectory of payload Test what wavelengths of light are visible at different altitudes using a diffraction grating with a low-light filter tube

Monitor internal conditions of payload using HOBO temperature probe Attempt to generate electrical current with Peltier cell exploiting temperature difference Analyze data after flight to qualify our predicted results For our camera experiment, we will use diffraction grating to measure the wavelengths of light in Near Space. This picture is the control for our camera experiment, it was taken on

the ground through our diffraction grating with a light filter tube. After the flight, we will compare this picture with the ones from various altitudes. Since the HOBO cannot take voltages over 2.5

volts, we needed to make a voltage limiter circuit. The Peltier Cell is the power supply, and the HOBO is the voltmeter. Exterior Payload Design Payload Box Design Top View (without lid) 7

Side View (without lid) 7 1 1.5 5 3 6

1 Payload Design (Detailed) Payload Construction

Team Building and Experiment Planning 9/20/09 9/27/09

Weather Station build Completed 10/4/09 Heater Circuit build Completed 10/4/09 Flight Computer build Completed 10/4/09 CDR Presentation 10/6/09 Payload Construction Began 10/11/09, Completed 10/23/09 Test and Program Flight Computer/HOBO Completed 10/20/09 FRR Presentation 10/27/09 Weather Station Testing and Cold Soak Completed 10/28/09

Payload rigging Completed 10/28/09 Final Weigh-in, Payload Turn-in, and yank test Completed 10/29/09 Halloween Launch 10/31/09 Data analysis - Began 11/3/09 Final project presentation 11/24/09 Object Pink Styrofoam Tubing, rigging, zip ties, glue, etc.

Mass (kg) 0.150 0.075 Heater circuit 3-pack 9-volt battery for heater 0.027 0.150 Weather station

BalloonSat Easy flight computer 9-volt battery for flight computer Canon Powershot still camera HOBO data logger HOBO voltage probe Peltier cell Diffraction grating Voltage Limiter Circuit Cardboard Tubing Total

0.015 0.033 0.046 0.223 0.048 0.010 0.020 0.005 0.015 0.02 0.837

Object Pink Styrofoam Tubing, rigging, zip ties, glue, etc. Cost ($) 8.00 5.00 Heater circuit 3-pack 9-volt battery for heater

5.00 6.00 Weather station BalloonSat Easy flight computer 9-volt battery for flight computer Canon Powershot still camera HOBO data logger HOBO voltage probe Peltier cell

Diffraction grating Voltage Limiter Circuit Cardboard Tubing Total 40.00 30.00 2.00 166.00 130.00 9.00

5.00 7.00 1.00 Free 414.00

Camera Experiment: We set our camera to take nonflash pictures every 30 seconds through our diffraction grating. Flight Computer: The flight computer takes readings from the weather station every 5 seconds. HOBO: The HOBO measures the internal temperature and the voltage of the Peltier cell every 2-5 seconds. ;

Drop Test Result: Payload survived Flight Computer Test Result: Flight computer

functional HOBO Test Result: HOBO functional and responding to program Weather Station Test Result: Sensors functional and communication with flight computer established Cold Soak Result: All components still functional after 20 minute soak Yank Test Result: Rigging held and all components stayed in place Weigh-in Result: Final payload mass 0.880 kg

Camera Experiment: We expect to see fewer wavelengths of visible light because there are fewer gases in the atmosphere. Peltier Cell Experiment: As the temperature

difference between the interior and exterior of the payload increases, we expect the voltage to increase. Weather Station: We think the weather station will detect lower pressure, humidity and temperatures at higher altitudes (except in the Ozone layer). Graph courtesy of the University of Colorado, www.colorado.edu We expect the

temperature to follow a pattern similar to that in the graph as the altitude increases. Our maximum altitude will be somewhere near the middle of the stratosphere.

Stack just after launch Balloon filling and pre-launch activity Tracking (via ham radio APRS) and chase Recovery was difficult

but not impossible Payload interior after recovery camera dislodged, but everything still functional The launch went well, although the weather was very cold with flurries. Tracking of the payload

went smoothly (for the most part), and our stack reached a maximum altitude of about 112,000 feet and landed near the Chippewa Moraine State Recreation Area in west-central Wisconsin. Upon recovering the payload, we observed no physical damage to any components or the payload structure itself. Everything was still functioning, but the camera had been dislodged. Note: launch occurred at t = 0 s, burst occurred around t = 5500 s, and landing occurred around t = 8000 s

Note: launch occurred at t = 0 s, burst occurred around t = 5500 s, and landing occurred around t = 8000 s Note: launch occurred at t = 0 s, burst occurred around t = 5500 s, and landing occurred around t = 8000 s Graph 2: courtesy of Team Icarus Note: launch occurred at t = 0 s, burst occurred around t = 5500 s, and landing occurred around t = 8000 s

Note: launch occurred at t = 0 s, burst occurred around t = 5500 s, and landing occurred around t = 8000 s Note: launch occurred at t = 0 s, burst occurred around t = 5500 s, and landing occurred around t = 8000 s Note: launch occurred at t = 0 s, burst occurred around t = 5500 s, and landing occurred around t = 8000 s We were unable to pinpoint any specific

wavelengths that drop from the spectrum at higher altitudes, but we noticed that the high-frequency end of the spectrum (nearultraviolet light) became more intense as the altitude increased. This makes sense, since the atmosphere filters ultraviolet light from the Sun, resulting in less ultraviolet light at lower altitudes. 3,376 feet Pictures courtesy of University of Minnesota Morris flight on

11/14/09 59,608 feet Note: altitudes are in feet above sea level, not above the ground. Launch altitude was approximately 1000 feet above sea level. 84,160 feet

The Peltier cell responded as we expected and produced more current as the outside temperature got lower. The Peltier cell could be a reasonable alternative to batteries for powering a second heater. The color spectrum did appear (in our data) to change at higher altitudes, but we

would need a more sensitive camera to detect it properly. Not everything in life or ballooning will go exactly how you want it.

Recently Viewed Presentations

  • Complicated OSAS BY AHMAD YOUNES PROFESSOR OF THORACIC

    Complicated OSAS BY AHMAD YOUNES PROFESSOR OF THORACIC

    This study was supported by a grant of Egyptian academy of scientific research and technology in collaboration with . Mansoura. University) GERD In OSAS. ... Amr Badr-El Din,Gad El-Hak N,Younis A, Mostafa M, Mohmad Abdel-Hady. OSAS COMORBIDITIES.
  • Electric Brewing in the AABG

    Electric Brewing in the AABG

    Summary (vs. Propane Burners) Pros: Precise mash control with RIMS/HERMS for greater repeatability. Brew indoors with full electric. Many options for automation. Won't run out of gas. Lower energy cost. Educational process. Quieter. Cons: Equipment expense. Complexity. Time to build....
  • POWERMATIC TABLE SAW 1  2 POWERMATIC TABLE SAW

    POWERMATIC TABLE SAW 1 2 POWERMATIC TABLE SAW

    powermatic table saw tech machine beam saw beam saw surfacer adj. two belt surfacer grass machine 35 mm system grass machine 35 mm system power feeder table saw * powermatic table saw beismeyer fence & guard dado head powermatic table...
  • Life of Jesus Teaching on Kingdom of God

    Life of Jesus Teaching on Kingdom of God

    'The Life of Jesus' or 'The Bible or as part of another area in the curriculum, eg . History; Special Books. There are notes on each slide for teacher reference. Schools may prefer to edit the slides and use their...
  • PowerPoint - The Importance of Customer Service

    PowerPoint - The Importance of Customer Service

    Copyright. Copyright © Texas Education Agency, 2014. These Materials are copyrighted © and trademarked ™ as the property of the Texas Education Agency (TEA) and ...
  • Year 12 REVISION - mrsgraham.net

    Year 12 REVISION - mrsgraham.net

    Year 12 half yearly paper 2017 15% HSC WEIGHTING
  • Regulatory effects on RNA polymerase Binding constants Rate

    Regulatory effects on RNA polymerase Binding constants Rate

    All are potential targets for regulation. Summarizing a lot of work, we know that: strong promoters have high KB, high kf, low kr, and high rates of promoter clearance. weak promoters have low KB, low kf, high kr, and low...
  • Womens Interagency HIV Study (WIHS) Atlanta, GA Emory

    Womens Interagency HIV Study (WIHS) Atlanta, GA Emory

    WIHS Sub-studies. WIHS-FibroScan. An ultrasound-like machine that collects data on the fattiness and stiffness of the liver by using a metal probe device that sends sound waves from the liver to a computer that analyzes the measurements to produce results...